Heart Chakra Basics + Meditation

It’s about love.
Love for ourselves, others, and creation.
True love is unconditional.

  1. Heart Chakra Meditation
  2. Balancing the Heart
  3. What can we learn from the Heart Chakra?
  4. Is my Heart Chakra in Balance?

The Heart Chakra is the bridge between the lower, earthy chakras, and the higher ethereal chakras. It is the gateway into higher levels of consciousness.

Heart Chakra Meditation

Balancing the Heart

What can we learn from the Heart Chakra?

The Sanskrit word for this chakra is Anahata, meaning “Unbroken Rhythm and Endless Sound.” The heartbeat is steady and rhythmic, always working for us whether we realize it or not. And so it is with unconditional love; it is always beneath the surface.

Having an open-heart means being open to giving and receiving true, unconditional love. The heart is the center connection between us and others. It is pure and true. From this place we begin to give to others our gifts and talents. There is room to reach out, see, hear and experience the best of life with other people.

A balance between giving and receiving is also a theme of this chakra. I have been noticing this a lot in my life lately too. Needing to give in order to receive. There is no space to receive anything from others if we cannot give. If we give too much, then we do not have much energy left for ourselves. It is definitely a balancing act that is always in motion, and it is valuable to reflect on this.

Anahata: “Unbroken Rhythm and Endless Sound”

Is my Heart Chakra in Balance?

Attribute: Feminine
Location: center of the chest
Characteristics: connection with others, The bridge between upper/lower chakras, balance
Element: Wind/air
Color: Green
Organs associated: heart/circulatory system, respiratory
Age: 21-28 years

Affirmations: I am compassionate, I am filled with love, i am loved, i am content, it is safe to feel, it is safe to love and be loved, I love and accept myself, I love and accept all beings.

Purposes: love, balance, gateway to higher consciousness– integrates matter chakras below with spiritual chakras above
Key issues: passion, tenderness, inner-child issues, rejection, jealousy
Identity: social
Orientation: acceptance of the self and others
Basic rights: to love and to be loved
Demon: grief

Balanced: compassionate, loving, empathetic, self-loving, altruistic, peaceful, balanced
Deficiency: antisocial, withdrawn, cold, critical, judgmental, intolerant, loneliness, isolation, “closed hearted,” depression, fear of intimacy, fear of relationships, lack of empathy

Excess: codependency, poor boundaries, demanding, clinginess, jealousy, giving too much of yourself

Physical diseases: shallow breathing, asthma, lung diseases, sunken chest, immune deficiency, high blood pressure, tension between shoulder blades, pain in chest, circulation problems

Healing practices: breathing exercises, reach out/ take in with arms, journaling, self-growth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: